Skip to content

Tulips and lost causes

March 20, 2012

One of the goals I set my self  three and a half years ago was to use my skills to earn a living.  So far I haven’t been very good at it.

Things which don’t pay me any money get in the way and instead of ignoring them I get distracted and then sucked in. Depressingly,  many of the things which take my time are lost causes – fighting a proposed incinerator is a case in point. If not actually a lost cause, it’s not a quick win and it’s inordinately time consuming – but it has my full attention (well not quite  my full  attention because it has to vie with my other lost causes).

Today, though, since we have gathered enough information to mount a legal challenge against the beast, I decided to do a painting of some tulips (grown in the UK) to go in an exhibition being held in April. It’s a bit of a tall order as the painting has to be a botanical painting and they take ages, but I’m a quick painter. It has to be said it doesn’t look very promising at the moment, but I’m hopeful that tomorrow I can rescue it. I took a reference photo just in case the tulip loses all its petals. Or I get distracted again.

I also took a picture of lunch which was a stir fry made up of various leftovers including bits of broccoli, carrot, red pepper and fried tofu mixed with the last of a packet of stir fry vegetable mix(containing several vegetables it wasn’t possible to identify) that was in the freezer and really should have been eaten ages ago. Enough heat (and soy sauce and garlic) made it very nice. The fresh French bread added a touch of class.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jessica meredith permalink
    March 21, 2012 6:43 pm

    Kate keep up the painting,you might improve with any luck!Well done for dedication to
    important lost causes as often said so much talent for one sooo short!

What do you think?

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

Needle felted creatures

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

vegan food and related ramblings

RMA Governor Support

support and development for school and academy governors

drawthepublic

Russell's sketchblog

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

drawing • painting • printmaking • miniature art • botanical art • hand made books

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser travelling around the world and writing about it.

The Sandwich Lady

For people sandwiched in the middle of life and relationships

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

