Skip to content

Dried fruit….

April 3, 2012

Poppy’s phone is now working and we are in contact so I’ve stopped worrying that she might be in imminent  mortal danger (although I am not thinking about “sofa surfing” and have relegated the concept  to the back of my mind). I have turned my attention to more immediate, important things  – like the state of the house.

Some things I can’t do a lot about unless I can purloin the services of a friendly carpenter – the fact that the conservatory is in urgent need of repair for example.  Some things I can do something about, but don’t really want to – the fact that the house needs tidying and my daughter’s room looks as if a whirlwind has hit it.  My friend Sarah said “You have to tidy her room. She can’t come home to a messy room – that would be awful!” Sarah’s a lot more indulging of her children than I am of mine, but her words struck home. I started to pick things up off the floor.

It wasn’t long before I nosed a strong, slightly off citrussy smell. I found a past its best satsuma. I inadvertently squeezed it and it emitted a little puff of green “smoke”. There was another satsuma in a similar state and a  third one, squashed and dessicated, in a paper bag. Then I found an apple and then the remains of a pecan slice on a paper plate.

More tidying showed that, fortunately, I had come to the limit of the room’s culinary offerings.  I later put them all in the compost bin, but not before immortalising the arrangement in a photograph (while the rabbit upended said compost bin and deftly removed the pecan pie scurrying away with it to a place of safety).

“Funny smell” said Arlo as he walked past.”Poppy’s room usually smells of  nice perfume”. That’s so true.  Poppy may be in Italy, but her dried fruit experiment is very definitely with us.

No comments yet

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

RMA Governance

improving children's outcomes through effective governance

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

