Skip to content

Rhubarb cake

May 2, 2012

I love rhubarb. I don’t know why we don’t grow it – I say “we” but it’s the beloved who does the gardening. Perhaps I ought to cultivate some – how hard can it be?

Anyway, rhubarb was in Annie’s fruit and veg shop today so I bought some, but only a small amount because I was thinking crumble (which Arlo and Rella aren’t keen on), but by the time I got home I was thinking cake.

I didn’t have a recipe scribbled down in my book so I improvised using a Devon apple cake recipe as a starting point. I think it  needed more rhubarb, though the beloved said he liked it.

Rub 4oz butter into 4oz soft brown sugar and 8oz self raising flour until it looks like breadcrumbs. Add 6oz chopped rhubarb (would be better with 9 I reckon) and mix. Crack two eggs into a container to mix then up a bit and then add these to the mix. I put a kind of crumble topping on to my cake ( 2oz each butter, sugar and flour rubbed together) because I still hadn’t really forgotten the idea of crumble and the rhubarb was sticking out of the mixture looking as if it might need covering – it probably didn’t, thinking about it now, because rhubarb tends to cook down to nothing. Never mind. Put into a lined 8″ square cake tin and bake for about 50 minutes at 180c until lightly browned. Cool in the tin for a bit before taking out and serving – best warm!

It looks quite rustic and the topping was pleasingly crunchy- good with yogurt.

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

