Skip to content

Sheep shearing…

May 24, 2012

Yet another lovely day – hot and sunny from sunrise to sundown.  Arlo was in the garden reading his Beanos as the sun went down – you can’t see the sunset from the garden, but the sky was just beginning to be suffused with a pinkish glow. Arlo should have been getting ready for bed, but it was so warm and he was being unobtrusive so I didn’t really notice that he was still outside.

Too busy doing the elderflower squash – I think that’s what I’ll call it. The elderflowers had made the water taste a bit flowery. I should have used more elderflowers, but there weren’t any – ideally you need three or four large heads to each pint of water.  I had far fewer flowers drowning in 2 pints of water.

Anyway, I put about 5oz caster sugar caster sugar into the bottom of a large enough jug   and poured the strained elderflower water onto it. I then added the juice of half a lemon – you could add more but it should be elderflower squash not lemon squash –  and stirred it until the sugar dissolved.

I made sure a few flowers went in too (mainly to disguise any tiny insects). It’s slightly sweet, slightly lemony and slightly flowery and shouldn’t really be drunk cold as you lose the flavour, but you can add ice. This is elderflower squash. The smell is very evocative –  it’s the first real smell and taste of summer.

I’ve put some in a screw top bottle and I’ll see if it starts to ferment in time – but if not we’ll drink it anyway on Rella’s birthday, and I’ll make champagne later.

The thing about Arlo still being at large after I had completed my culinary tasks was that I became aware that he really did need a haircut. And because it was still warm outside and he was still reluctant to go to bed, and it was still light and I had a pair of scissors, there was no escape.

He does look like a wild sheep most of the time, but at least now he appears tame. 

No comments yet

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

