Skip to content

Is the sun sulking?

June 26, 2012

This evening, while I was in a meeting, the sun came out. The timing was a bit off really, but for a good half an hour the room was bathed in sunshine. It lightened the discussion a little, literally and metaphorically (it had been getting  a little circular), but then the sun set. It was that time.

For most of the day the sky has been grey. The sun hid behind the clouds. Embarrassed maybe?  Having a strop? It’s all very well appearing in a blaze of sunset glory, but we’d like a little morning glory – afternoon glory would be acceptable. But only appearing just before you go to bed is a very teenager-ish thing to do.  Still, there’s another chance tomorrow…

Because I had a meeting which spans eating time in our house, I made flans before I went out. This usually guarantees that there will be food left for me to eat when I come in, starving. I also made a salad using one of the lettuces which have so far beaten off the slugs in the garden – I suspect they had help –  and some new potatoes, mint and tomatoes. I didn’t expect there to be any of this left, but there was, and very nice it was too.

The savoury flan was spinach, parsley – lots of parsley – mint (very summery) and tofu.

Line a flan dish with pastry, cook up a large bunch of spinach, a large bunch of chopped parsley, and a few mint leaves in some olive oil until the spinach has wilted. Allow to cool for a bit. Mash a block of tofu in a bowl and then add the green stuff, some salt and pepper, a couple of eggs, a little milk and some chilli sauce. Pour into the flan case and bake for 40 minutes or so until it’s done.

I also made a bakewell tart – again. It’s my standby and every time I make pastry I usually can’t resist making a bakewell. It’s very simple – 2 eggs, 4oz soft butter, sugar, ground almonds and flour – this time I used a mix of wholemeal and white self raising flour which I like to think makes it a bit healthier  – mixed together with some milk if need be and poured over a jam covered pastry base and baked for half an hour or so. I scattered slivered almonds over before baking for effect.

Nice with cream – or custard, but that’s a bit too wintery. Good for picnics!

No comments yet

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

