Skip to content

Red plaster

September 6, 2012

The sun shone again. Finally the weather is behaving itself.  The beloved and I went off to Newton Abbot in search of ready cut mounts for the pictures I need to exhibit at next week’s Totnes Art Society Big Show (part of the Devon Open Studios thing) at the Totnes Boating Association Clubhouse. We found them at a shop called Frames and Boxes (I think that’s what it’s called) and the shop keeper was helpful and pleasant and gave the impression that he liked people in his shop –  a definite plus  – mind you the last place I went shopping was Torquay…..

The beloved had some rather nice noodles for lunch and I had a vegetable spring roll from a kiosk  outside the market. Good street food. Worth visiting again and there’s a shop attached selling all manner of useful condiments – which will be needed when the beloved buys another 56lbs of potatoes.

Anyway,  now I need to do some painting. There’s nothing like leaving it to the last minute. Normally, last minute is OK, but I have a broken wrist and it’s harder than I thought it would be to paint – even though the offending wrist is not attached to my painting arm.

Still, I am since yesterday sporting a rather fetching red plaster cast – the white one was getting a little grubby (and the doctor at the fracture clinic thought the cast should be tighter) – and my thumb is free!!! It was almost encased before which was very limiting, so now holding the paper still should be easier. I still can’t really believe I broke it, but I’ve seen the x rays.

Arlo came home and unpacked his day, but couldn’t keep still and swung his legs and bounced in the kitchen threatening to knock everything over. He’s used to cycling to and from school but now his school’s over the road – 5 minutes from door to door.  We’ll have to think of some way of building exercise into his journey to school, but for today he had a go on the trampoline for about an hour (he was also going to go to swimming club, but it doesn’t start till next week).

Blossom came round resplendent in stripy leggings and looking lovely – go girl!

One Comment leave one →
  1. alex21 permalink
    February 8, 2015 12:52 pm

    How did you break your wrist?I was in a cast too.I broke my wrist and thumb playing soccer.I had my third cast removed 2 months ago.Best wishes and take care.

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

RMA Governance

improving children's outcomes through effective governance

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

