Skip to content

new directions for quinces

November 13, 2012

The quinces’ number was up today and I finally did something with them – they were still smelling lovely, but only faintly- so it was now or never.

Once they were cut open they looked a little more interesting – lots of seeds in a distinctive format, but I’d chopped one up into really little bits and I’d started on the other before I thought about capturing this for posterity. Silly really – as a botanical illustrator I ought to think about these things.

I’d decided on quince cheese and consulted my rather wonderful preserving book by Oded Schwartz (which has every recipe you’re ever likely to need – and quite a few that you won’t). Some of the recipes are just too much of a mission, but it’s nice to imagine that I could be organised enough to present my family and friends with potted Stilton and/or smoked salmon as festive gifts. One day maybe.

Anyway, Oded told me, in pictures as well as words, that I needed to chop my quinces, then cook them in enough water to cover them until soft and then sieve them and measure the pulp. Then all I had to do was add an ounce of sugar per fl oz of pulp and cook till done. So far so good. Actually, he also said to add the juice of a lemon, but since I had very little pulp I decided it wasn’t worth it – could be my innate resistance to following a recipe of course.

I measured the pulp (there was only 5fl oz in the end) and added the sugar, stirred it over a low heat until it dissolved and then brought it to the boil stirring every now and then. As I simmered it, and it increasingly resembled a mini volcano emitting little lava like puffs of steam, as if by magic the mixture turned the dark red I was promised. I judged it done so poured the lot onto some silver foil to set. Then I had to rush out to a meeting.

Looking at it now, in the cold light of the evening and having been meetinged out,  it appears that I may have made quince toffee, rather than quince cheese.

“How interesting” said the beloved.

No comments yet

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

RMA Governance

improving children's outcomes through effective governance

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

