Skip to content

Doomed

January 10, 2013

I heard on Radio 4 this morning that almost half of the world’s food produced ends up as waste. The ImechE  (Institution of Mechanical Engineers) report on food (why?) says that up to 2 billion tonnes of food never makes it on to a plate. The reasons are many and varied, but most seem to come down to human fickleness  – or stupidity.

Nevertheless, a billion is a lot. It’s hard to conceptualise, but if you were  to count to a billion taking a second to count each number it would take you almost 32 years. Sobering thought.

So I took the two very much past their best bananas out of the compost bin (where they had been deposited still in their more black than yellow peel, but otherwise in tact, by a member of my family) and felt smug that I had done my bit today to prevent an infinitesimal part of 2 billion tonnes go to waste. Almost. I’m not sure to do with them yet.

If I make banana bread it will almost certainly end up wasted as no one likes it very much and we still have Christmas cake to eat which is enough cake to be getting on with. And we still have Christmas pudding too.

My sister made some delicious banana chutney, but I already have a jar of hers – and we do have rather a lot of green tomato chutney to eat. (Thinking about the banana chutney made me eat some with some toast and slightly warmed Brie for my lunch. Very nice. Studenty snack?) brie-and-banana-chutney

Older cookery books often have lots of recipes for bananas, but they are all horrible – with the possible exception of those in Jane Grigson’s Fruit Book, but even she marries bananas with bacon(involuntary shudder).

In the end I peeled the bananas and put them in the freezer. Maybe tomorrow I’ll use up some of the cream we have and make a banana ice cream.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2013 9:53 pm

    Here’s what I think about sometimes – what would my grandmother have done with this? I’m all for exercising good common sense and safety in the kitchen so no one gets sick, but I’m with you on this. Of course, I peel the banana and give the peels to our goats. Then I mash the banana itself up in the oatmeal for the chickens. Compost, repurpose – whatever you want to call it. I don’t waste it.

    • January 10, 2013 10:00 pm

      The rabbit ate the skins, but I don’t think it does her any good…

  2. jessica meredith permalink
    January 11, 2013 7:23 pm

    You need some chickens obviously,nice to paint too and i’m told they lay eggs ,could they live in rabbit land when not in the kitchen next to the aga?If you don’t reply to this comment ….i will start leaving Simon Armatige poems in full on your blog.I don’t think that will do much to help save the planet or give us courage to save humanity.You had no idea how i mean i can be …it rests on your shoulders .

    • January 11, 2013 7:30 pm

      The beloved says that chickens will destroy the grape vine and carrots that he plants in rabbit land, but that banana skins are compostable anyway.. 🙂

  3. jessica meredith permalink
    January 11, 2013 8:51 pm

    That’s a relief i was worried i’d have to buy an edition of Armitage’s poetry and not only read it but spend time each day typing one out!

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

