Skip to content

miserable by name…

February 6, 2013

It’s been a beautiful day today, but very cold indeed – and this evening (coming back from enduring Les Miserables) the sky is clear and you can see the stars. I had Spanish hot chocolate with Nia this morning which slightly took the edge off the house envy I was feeling, but only slightly. She has the most beautiful house which she’s been in the process of rescuing from 1970 woodchip for the past year and it’s paying off – and the views are stunning.

After seeing Nia I decided to come home and throw things out and tidy up, but I soon came to my senses, especially as Arlo needed some material to make his puppet of Guru Nanak. They’re doing Sikhism in Religious Studies at school and they have to do a puppet show. Arlo had some really good ideas about using a milk carton for the head covered in tissue paper, and some other ideas about making silk robes, but it was the execution of it he was unsure about, so we rummaged in the “materials box”.  puppet

This is the kind of thing I should throw out, but I keep just in case. It’s why I’ll never have a minimalist house. But it’s useful for school  projects. This time it yielded rather threadbare, but beautiful, silk pajamas bottoms that Halo bought back from India.  Arlo spent a happy half hour unpicking the seams so that they could be sewn up in a different configuration. Suffice it to say I had to do the sewing because the machine was playing up, but I made him do all the cutting out – and the floor shows the evidence. There was a slight problem when Arlo couldn’t decide which stick of the many in the garden to use to put the head on, but eventually he made the choice and the puppet is almost ready. I think he should have a white beard though.puppet2

As I’ve mentioned Rella, Arlo and I went to see the film of Les Miserables. Call me old fashioned, but I think a musical should have people who can sing in it.

Who on earth cast Russel Crowe? I know he’s playing the bad guy, but does he have to sing badly too? And Hugh Jackman? He may be able to act, but he can’t sing.  These two characters are intertwined throughout the whole plot and have some great songs, but you wouldn’t have known it.  And then there was Helena Bonham Carter doing yet another reprise of Bellatrix Lestrange, coupled with Sacha Baron Cohen as the light relief?

But the casting is nothing to the dreadful close ups – so many teeth and tongues in your face all the time. Every now and then you got a glimpse of something interesting in the background, but it was soon obliterated by another set of gnashers. I shut my eyes. It was better.

Arlo and Rella enjoyed it though – and assure me that my response is a minority one. Plus ca change.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2013 11:16 pm

    Wow, that milk bottle idea is brilliant!

    • February 7, 2013 2:30 pm

      If ever you need to make puppets, plastic milk bottles are the business 🙂

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

RMA Governance

improving children's outcomes through effective governance

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

