Skip to content

You made a cake using what?

April 22, 2013

avocado-cake5The Happy Apple has avocados at three for £1 this week.  There were masses of them piled high, resplendent in a shiny greeny-purpleness that was impossible to resist. Clearly, an unmissable bargain –  so I bought some. Six in fact. I ate one for my lunch sprinkled with a little salt and a little more black pepper. The avocado was perfect – just at the right stage of creamy ripeness. So perfect that I ate a second (they are only small).

However, not many people in this house will share in this avocado fest, and, as avocados are only perfect for a short while, I needed to use a couple up. Guacamole is ok, but I’d heard of a recipe for chocolate avocado cake and I thought I’d give one a try.

When I looked for a recipe (on the internet) all the recipes seemed to be a variant of a “Joy the Baker” recipe – even down to the jokes. I’m sure there’s nothing wrong with this recipe, but I didn’t like the sound of it. There didn’t seem to be much avocado in it (unless you count the icing) and I thought I remembered hearing that the avocado could be a substitute for both eggs and fat. So I experimented. My kids groaned.

Also in the Happy Apple on special offer (but not this week) has been coconut milk. This is a wonderful, very versatile ingredient and happily the beloved bought several tins – I think he was thinking of using it in exotic curries (there are still two tins left so this is possible).

Anyway, coconut milk, I now know, works well with avocados in a cake – and also makes a great rice pudding (probably a different post).

avocado-cake1avocado-cake2avocado-cake3avocado-cake4avocado-cake6

Chocolate avocado cake: puree/mash really well with a fork, the flesh of 2 smallish avocados. Melt 2 oz dark chocolate and leave to cool a little. Add half a 400g tin of coconut milk (don’t stir the tin’s contents – just scoop out the cream) to the avocado and mix well. Add 6 oz soft brown sugar and mix and then add 6oz self raising flour and mix.   Add a heaped tablespoon of cocoa powder and the melted chocolate and a heaped teaspoon of powdered cinnamon, mix well and pile into a lined 9″ round cake tin (it’s worth levelling the top because it doesn’t smooth itself out) and bake at 180c for about 35 minutes.  It will have risen and look cooked. Leave to cool in the tin for 10  minutes before turning out.

It could do with being iced with something – probably an icing sugar, cocoa and cinnamon glaze –  but this time was an experiment so I didn’t bother.

“It’s a bit boring” Rella said. She’s right (so I’ve added cinnamon to the recipe). Mind you she didn’t have the cake with the coconut rice pudding which did lift it considerably. I think it would also be nice warm with vanilla ice cream and it would probably be good with gluten free flour which might  make it a little more crumbly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2013 10:30 am

    WOW – I must try this one 🙂

    • April 24, 2013 11:04 am

      It’s good – and the look on people’s faces when you tell them what’s in it is good too. 🙂

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

