Skip to content

plastic coated lunch

January 13, 2014

I’m making a concerted effort to draw something every day into a  drawing book this year. I usually do draw every day, but it’s usually things like birthday cards (happy birthday John) or illustration on a shopping list, or something that I’m working on. So far I’ve achieved my goal, but it is only January 13th. (I’ve posted some of the drawings  on my other blog which you can see here).

This drawing I thought I put on this blog because it’s food related. Loosely. Very loosely.

This is a drawing of the lunch that was provided for the interview panel I was sitting on.  Jane said “You can wait in my room. Lunch has been provided”. There was a look on her face I couldn’t read. I went into the room and on the table, resplendent in cling film was lunch. I didn’t dare undress it, I just drew it.

interview-panel's-lunch

Later we carried out the unveiling. There were sandwiches: sliced bread, whitish – they were OK ( I was hungry), but egg and tomato really is an unlovely combination; tuna and cucumber, and cheese and cucumber are both too predictable. I think there was ham and tomato, but I don’t eat ham. There was also a bowl of crisp type things – highly flavoured small rice cakes ( I tried one), mini poppadoms also highly flavoured and, bizarrely, cardboard flavoured tortilla chips. And cartons of juice and bottles of water – to wash it down?

The highlight was undoubtedly the cold hash browns cut into small triangles, the cold chicken nuggets (similarly bisected) and the cold sausage rolls – all served with some yellowish dip which had distressing edges (I don’t think any of us tried that) and some packets of tomato sauce. “Looks like the remains of a children’s party” said Rachel.

“It’s a good job you’re not a real visitor” said Jane – who was, it has to be said, strangely drawn to the cold hash browns. ( Institutionalised you see.)

What baffles me still is that someone, with a catering remit, thought this was OK…or were they just having a laugh…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2014 12:10 pm

    Buffet lunches are almost invariably vile. Caterers these days obviously don’t need to know anything about food or cooking. Lovely drawing

What do you think?

barry boone

Natural science illustrations and sketches

The Engaged Musician

Sam Richards about Music, Society, and Arts

hello, fig

ben stainton posts things using a computer

Woolly Wild Things

My adventures in felt making

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

notes to the milkman

being random ramblings about art

dropscone

cheap, tasty vegan food & related ramblings

RMA Governance

improving children's outcomes through effective governance

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

designsweet

Graphic design, type, print and musings

magnificentminimalist

My pet frisson and I are here to throw away your stuff.

Petals and Paints

A Colourful Journey In Botanical Illustration With Watercolours

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Food and Forage Hebrides

Gastronomic endeavours on the edge of Europe

Humans Are Weird

colourful observations

The Happy Hermit

Andreas Moser traveling around the world and writing about it.

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

